The Dark Horses Qualifying Round of the Air Guitar World Championships proved out to be pure sterling on Thursday 25 August at the rock bar 45 Special in Oulu, Finland. The intense crowd witnessed some of the highest scores ever, when five victorious air guitarists strummed their way to the World Final.

The best air guitarist of the night was Corentin ”Airgus” Fermont (BE) with his total of 17.9 points. Four other finalists are Jan Geeky Gisbert Fischer (DE), Chelsie ”Cannonballmavin” Jangord (US), Kate ”Zero Prospects” Gray (UK) and Jaakko ”Colossal” Härkönen (FI).

The twelve contestants hungry for some Air Guitar glory were judged by the airientated jury, which consisted of the air guitar researcher Amanda Griffkin, Russia’s double champion of 2008 & 2009 Alexander ”Devilseducer” Gott and one of the worst air guitarists ever, Hilkka ”Gore Kitty” Haaga. In addition, the jury members included also two national organizers, Olga Skliarska (UA) and Henri Riska (EE)

Dark Horses Results 2011:

1. Corentin ”Airgus” Fermont 17.9 (BE)
2. Jan "Geeky Gisbert" Fischer 17.4 (DE)
3. Chelsie ”Cannonballmavin” Jangord 17.3 (US)
4. Kate ”Zero Prospects” Gray 17.2 (UK)
5. Jaakko ”Colossal” Härkönen 17.1 (FIN)
6. Guillaume "Moche Pitt" de Tonquédec 17.0 (FRA)
7. Valeriya ”Lera” Tsizulieva 16.8 (RU)
8. Marie ”Moldy Peach” von Borstel 16.7 (DE)
9. Eero ”El Amigo de Oulu” Ojala 16.5 (FIN)
10. Nove ”BAKSHEESH ITABASHI” Matsuyama 16.3 (JP)
11. Mathias ”Eric "Nu" Matic” Mertens 15.8 (DE)
12. Merlin ”Lester "Lixx" Dickson” Schumacher 14.9 (DE)

Air Guitar World Champion Will Be Crowned on Friday

The spectacular Grand Final takes place on Friday 26 August at Oulu Marketplace starting at 7 p.m. (EET) onwards. In addition to the world’s best air guitarists, the stage will be taken over by Finnish pop idol Anna Abreu, Oulu based rock groung Moses Hazy and wicked French air band Airnadette.

The reigning World Champion, the little golden Frenchman Sylvain ”Günther Love” Quimene is challenged by the contestants who cleared the Dark Horses' Qualification Round, but also by the Air Guitar elite from all over the world. The Marketplace stage will be taken by national Air Guitar champions from Malaysia, United Kingdom, United States, Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Russia, Czech Republic, France, Ukraine, Brazil and Estonia.

The Final jury is chaired by Finnish guitar legend Juha Torvinen for the respectable 16th time. Torvinen is joined by radio producer Jani Kortti from radio station YleX. The jury is completed by three national championships organizers, Raphaël Monnanteuil (BE), Arjan Buffing (TH) and Frank Lange (DE). The Final is hosted by Dan ”Björn Türoque” Crane.

Press photos can be found at the AGWC’s mutual media gallery with the Oulu Music Video Festival.