Wild Moves and Airy Joy at the Dark Horses' Qualifying Round

Four of the flexiest guitarists clear the qualifications

At the Dark Horses Qualifying Round at 45 Special on Thursday 26 August, the hearts of the Jury were won over by Cameron ”Tommy Thundah” Bunney (AU) whose highest-scoring performance featured 80’s glam style and some wicked hip-shaking. Talented Kevin ”Narvalwaker” Leloux (BE) scored second and earned his place at the Air Guitar World Championships Final.

The battle was extraordinarily hard as there was a tie between three contestants when Alexander ”Devilseducer” Gott (RU), Carl Van Renen (ZA) and adorable 10-year-old Aapo ”Little Angus” Rautio (FI) had 16 points after playing their self-chosen song. Two of them, Alexander “Devilseducer” Gott (RU) and Aapo “Little Angus” Rautio got the highest scores at the extra round and made it through to the final to beat the best.

The would-be champions were judged by a merciless and authoritative Jury consisting of 2008 Champion Craig ”Hot Lixx Hulahan” Billmeier, dancer/choreographer Teemu Tuohimaa and film director Mika Ronkainen. The Qualification Round Jury included also official national championships organizers Meesha Lane from Ireland and West Hays from United States.

Dark Horses Qualifiying Round Top Four

Cameron “Tommy Thundah” Bunney (AU) 17,1
Kevin “Narvalwaker” Leloux (BE) 16,8
Aapo “Little Angus” Rautio (FI) 16,4
Alexander “Devilseducer” Gott (RU) 16,2

Other contestants:

Jason “Flava Jay” Basson (ZA)
Markku “von Muhonen” Muhonen (FI)
Raphael ”FawAir” Fawer (CH)
Jonas ”The Crazy Swede” Olofsson (SE)
Carl van Renen (ZA)

Print-quality photos of the Qualification winners can be found at Media Gallery.

15th Air Guitar World Champion will be crowned on Friday

The spectacular Grand Final takes place on Friday 27 August at Oulu Marketplace starting at 7 p.m. (EET) onwards. The reigning World Champion, the little golden Frenchman Sylvain ”Günther Love” Quimene is challenged by the contestants who cleared the Dark Horses' Qualification Round, but also by the Air Guitar elite from 18 countries. The Marketplace stage will be taken by national Air Guitar champions from Japan, Malaysia, United Kingdom, Canada, United States, Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Russia, Slovakia, Czech Republic, France, Ukraine, Switzerland, Mexico, Denmark, Brazil and Finland.

The 15th Anniversary jury is chaired by guitar legend Juha Torvinen for the respectable 15th time. Torvinen is joined by Swedish guitar sensation José González and the American Spin Magazine reporter Andy Beta. The jury is completed by two national championships organizers Zac Monro from UK and Raphaël Monnanteuil from Belgium from the international AGWC Network. The Final is hosted by Dan ”Björn Türoque” Crane.

For more information contact:

Susanna Kyllönen
Festival Producer
tel. + 358 44 328 0563 / susanna(at)omvf.net

Emmi Pääkkönen
Press & Accreditation Coordinator
tel. +358 40 7711 607 / emmi(at)omvf.net

Return to News Archive