Günther Love Keeps the Highest Trophy of Air Guitar

The 15th Anniversary of Air Guitar World Championships culminated with a scintillating Final

The Grand Final witnessed snapping strings and fainting groupies as the contestants, one fierier than the other, fought for the ultimate command of the air. Last year's World Champion Sylvain “Gunther Love” Quimene (FR) gave once again a stunning performance and took the highest crown back to France. His fellow countrywoman Soraya “Eva Gina Runner” Garlenq scored second with her sparkling and tight one-minute show. The third place was taken over by retiring Canadian champion Cole “Johnny Utah” Manson.

The World Champion goes home with a constantly-growing international fanbase, but also an electric guitar impeccably handcrafted by Matti Nevalainen of Flying Finn guitars. The top three were also awarded with Golla products. The top ten go home packing plexiglass guitars from Oulun Kopiokeskus in their Air Guitar cases.

On the stage the four Dark Horses to clear the Thursday's Qualifying Round challenged the Air Guitar Champions from Japan, Malaysia, Great Britain, Canada, United States, Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Russia, Slovakia, Czech Republic, France, Ukraine, Switzerland, Mexico, Denmark, Brazil and Finland. On the first round the contestants played a self chosen song and the ten to score highest were admitted to the second, Compulsory Round, where everyone rocked to the legendary Foxy Lady by Jimi Hendrix.

Air Guitar World Championship Final 2010 results, all the participants!
1. Sylvain “Günther Love” Quimene (FR) 33,9
2. Soraya “Eva Gina Runner” Garlenq (FR) 33,4
3. Cole “Johnny Utah” Manson (CA) 33,1
4. Corentin “AirGus” Fermont (BE) 32,6
5. Chuah “L-Bird” Eng Beng (MY) 32,5
6. Aapo “Little Angus” Rautio (FI) 32,4
6. Kevin “Narvalwaker” Leloux (BE) 32,4
8. Cameron “Tommy Thundah” Bunney (AU) 32,3
9. Toshihiko “SUNANEY” Sunabe (JP) 32,1
10. Peter “Pete Peacemaker” Kuriscák (SK) 31,4
11. Matt "Romeo DanceCheetah" Cornelison (US) 16,0
12. Christian  ”Heart Buckboard” Sweep (DE) 15,8
13. Kirill “Your Daddy” Blumenkrantz (RU) 15,7
13. Karla "Gotika" Mendoza (MX) 15,7
15. Thom "W!ld Th!ng 37" Wilding (UK) 15,5
16. Bedrich"Mr Babinoska" Levi (CZ) 15,4
17. Dirk "Swiss Dirty Airy" Lüdi (CH) 15,2
17. Eero "Oulun oma poika" Ojala (FI) 15,2
19. Reko  "Baron horse-stealer" Gamrekelidze (UA) 15,1
20. Soren "Big G" Stenbjerg Gregersen (DK) 15,0
21. Deku "Deku Chan" Chan (IE) 14,9
22. Alan "Xirtam" Foster (BR) 14,8
23. Alexander "Devilseducer" Gott (RU) 14,6

High-quality Press Photos can be found at: www.omvf.net/en/press/gallery.

Juha Torvinen, the godfather of Air Guitar chaired a prestigious and sharp-eyed Jury who analyzed the contestants as the Finals evening turned into night. Torvinen was supported by the Swedish guitar-wizard José Gonzalez, Spin Magazine reporter Andy Beta from the U.S. and two national championships organizers from the AGWC Network, Zac Monro from United Kingdom and Raphaël Monnanteuil from Belgium. As the Air Guitar tradition has it, after the winner was chosen, all the contestants took the stage once more and encouraged the whole world to play Air Guitar to Neil Young's "Rockin' in the Free World" while the fireworks lighted the sky to celebrate the 15th anniversary. The objective of the Air Guitar Championships in to promote world peace – according to Air Guitar ideology, wars will end, climate change stops and all bad things disappear if all the people in the world play the Air Guitar.

The night also included performances by rap artist Paleface and the master-lyricist Samuli Putro with his band. The audience was also treated with surprise programme as male choir Pohjan Laulu and Swedish Junip, that this time performed as an air band for their music video, took the stage. The night's host, Air Guitar Guru Dan ”Björn Türoque” enchanted the Oulu Marketplace with his charisma and tuned the festival audience into an airy frequency. The chilly Final night gathered a massive audience of approximately 7000-8000 people.

For more information contact:
Susanna Kyllönen
Festival Producer
p. 044 328 0563 / susanna(at)omvf.net

Emmi Pääkkönen
Press & Accreditation Coordinator
p. 040 7711 607 / emmi(at)omvf.net

Return to News Archive